04 May 2016

CaseLink Office: Weed Out Old Cases with Purge Cases Wizard

0 Comment

Did you know? Old, inactive cases can slow down your system and cause unnecessary clutter, similar to how weeds slow the growth of plants in your garden. This season, weed out cases that no longer need to be stored in your case administration software for a faster running and more organized system with the Purge Cases Wizard in CaseLink Office.

BMS recommends that any no asset cases that have been closed for 4 years or more should be purged from the system. Any asset cases closed for 7 years or more may be purged from your system and at the trustee’s discretion.

**Please Note: These are recommended guidelines and you may want to check with your local UST before you purge any cases.

Check out how to purge cases in CaseLink Office, below!

How to Purge Cases in CaseLink Office

The Case Purge module in CaseLink Office enables you to safely remove cases that you no longer need in the system. The case(s) will be permanently disabled and most of the information will be deleted; however, the basic case information will still be retained in the system for reference and you will have a report of which cases have been purged for your records. Here’s how:

  1. From the top Main Menu toolbar (File Menu), select “File” then “Case Purge,” which invokes the Purge Screen, shown below. Select “Purge Cases and Documents,” or, if you would just like to purge documents, click “Purge Documents Only,” then click “Next.”
    purge-1
  2. On the Purge Wizard screen, select the cases you’d like to purge by clicking on the checkboxes next to the listed cases, or clicking “Select All.” After you are done selecting the cases you’d like to purge, click “Next.”
    purge-2
  3. If there are any potential issues that would prevent the cases you have selected from being purged, the next screen will highlight these issues and give you the opportunity to correct them or leave these cases off of your purge. If there are cases that are listed in red, you will not be able to purge them. Once you have reviewed your cases, click “Next.”
    purge-
  4. On the “Create Archive and Purge” screen shown below, you will have the option to create an archive file. Select either “Yes” (which will prompt you to choose a location for your archived file) or “No” as desired, then click “Purge.”
    purge-4
  5. After you click “Purge,” a screen will pop up asking if you are sure that you would like to purge the selected cases. Click “Yes.”
  6. If there are cases that cannot be purged, a “Not Purged” screen will pop up listing the cases and the reasons they could not be purged from the system. Once you have reviewed the list, you can print a ‘Case Not Purged’ Report from this screen. If you wish to continue with the case purge, click “Continue.”
  7. Once the purge has been completed, you will see a Results screen with the following information:
    1. Case(s) selected to be purged
    2. Case(s) actually purged
      *Note: Purging a case will remove all associated transmission information.
  8. Additionally when the purge is finalized, you will be given the option to print a Purge Report, with the following parameters to select:
    1. “Sort By”: Select either “Case No.” or “Case Name”
    2. “Print Memo Fields”: Select either “Yes” or “No”
  9. You can view all Purge Reports that you have created from the Purged Case Log, which you can find by clicking “Purge” from the Case Purge Screen.
[top]